Muhammadu Buhari Appoints New Service Chiefs

President Muhammadu Buhari has announced new service chiefs and National security adviser,NSA,  a few minutes after he sacked all the former service chiefs.


President Muhammadu Buhari released the names of the new appointment via the special adviser to the president on Media and publicity, Mr Femi Adeshina. The new appointments are :

1. Maj.-Gen. Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin – Chief of Defence Staff (Ekiti State)

2. Maj.-Gen. T.Y. Buratai – Chief of Army Staff (Borno State)

3. Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas – Chief of Naval Staff (Cross River State)

4. Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar – Chief of Air Staff (Bauchi State)

5. Air Vice Marshal Monday Riku  Morgan – Chief of Defence Intelligence

6. Maj.-Gen. Babagana Monguno (rtd.) – National Security Adviser

All the new service chiefs will hold their appointments in an "acting capacity" until confirmed by the senate.

President Buhari appreciates all the former service chiefs and National security advisers for their service to the nation and wish them luck in their future endeavours.